Advocates For Animal Rights (AFAR) is a 501c3 Companion Animal Rescue. AFAR has two locations: our first location is In the Beautiful State of Michigan, and our second location is in the Impressive State of Tennessee!

Our primary goal is to raise NO-KILL Companion Animal Sanctuary's at both sites, offering a safe haven to all homeless animals. They will have permanent, safe and loving place to live until a forever home for them is found. However, if a forever home is not readily available, the sanctuary will remain their home away from home until a forever home is found.



WE ADVOCATE- For Animals & Their Caregivers,

WE EDUCATE- On the Importance of Spaying or Neutering Your Animals,

WE CELEBRATE- The Lives of our Companion Animals and the Extraordinary Bond That We Share With Them!




(866) 224-AFAR

Executive Board Members


  • L David Farr- Executive Director: L David has worked in the non-profit field for 28 (twenty eight) years in many diverse venues such as an AmeriCorps Vista, various Board Officer & member positions, an Executive Board President and Secretary, a team leader, and several Committee positions. Additionally, he has volunteered most of his life in many settings. He possesses sincerity, openness and veracity.


  • Board Chairperson:



  • Denise Force-McElheron- Board Vice Chairperson: Denise has worked in the secretarial field for fourteen (fourteen) years in various venues. In addition, Denise has held numerous volunteer positions throughout her life including teaching and administration. She possesses truthfulness, efficiency, and dependability.



  • Dale Grubb- Board Finance Team Lead: Dale has volunteered most of his life in multiple venues, including being a trustee of the Shaftsburg United Methodist Church for 8 (eight) years. Additionally, he serves on the Administration Board & the Staff Relations Committee. What’s more, he was the Construction Project Coordinator for at-risk youth at a non-profit agency for several years. He possesses integrity, honor, and reliability.



  • Deb Ellis– Board Secretary:






Be Sociable, Share!